Maple-Fennel Pork Chop

Maple-Fennel Pork Chop

A quick editorial note first. I know it’s been quite some time since I posted a new recipe here. I’ve written before about the challenges of keeping up regular posts between work and school, so I won’t get into it again. Since my last post, however, I’ve also gotten engaged (!!!) and adopted a cute but mischievous little pup (!). Needless to say, finding time to write – and even cook – has been difficult.

In the past I’ve always said that I would get back to posting on a more regular schedule. I honestly don’t know if that will ever be the case. Cooking is a hobby and a passion for me, and sharing it with others – whether in person or on this blog – brings me a lot of joy. But when it feels like a chore or I feel guilty for not posting, the magic fades pretty quickly.

So I hope you’ll check back now and again for new recipes – or better yet sign up for updates! – but no promises about getting back to new recipes every week.

Now enough talk – to the recipe!

This is a simple and totally delicious take on grilled pork chops that’s easy to whip up even on a weeknight. The fennel and maple syrup together are reminiscent of classic breakfast sausage, but without being so fatty or cloyingly sweet. Grilled to perfection, it’s a vibrant main dish that goes great with grilled veggies or baked potatoes.

Now that Spring has sprung, it’s officially barbecue season. Get yourself some pork chops and start it off right!

Maple-Fennel Pork Chop

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons ground fennel (fresh is better)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 or 2 pork chops

Instructions

  1. Whisk together all the ingredients except the pork chops until thoroughly mixed. In a flat bottomed dish, pour the marinade over the pork chops and let sit for at least an hour.
  2. Get the temperature of your grill up to medium-high and lay the pork chops on. Cook for 6-8 minutes, undisturbed, until the exterior has begun to caramelize. Flip the chops and cook for another 2-3 minutes until the inside of the pork is no longer pink.
  3. Remove the pork chops from the grill. Let sit for at least 5 minutes before serving so they retain their juiciness.

Leave a comment