Archive for April 8th, 2014

April 8, 2014

Horchata Cheesecake

Horchata Cheesecake

This recipe is one that has been kicking around in the back of my head for years now. I’m not generally a big dessert person, so it took me a while to get to it – but I’m glad that I finally did!

The big draw of this idea was the idea of incorporating a uncommon flavor into a classic American dessert. Horchata is a traditional beverage in Spain and many Latin American countries. There are a number of different styles, but the basic principal is a ground nut or grain, milk, and spices. Rice, almonds and sesame seeds are common bases, while spices often include some mix of vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice.

I chose a preparation that is common in Guatemala: rice and cinnamon. Although rice is often thought of as a very neutral grain, it actually impart quite a bite of flavor. Cinnamon, meanwhile, has its own robust yet homely profile that forms the backbone of the horchata.

Folded into a very classic cheesecake recipe, horchata becomes a wonderful way to spice up a typical dessert. It’s simple and elegant while still rich enough to sate your sweet tooth. Enjoy!

read more »